Scandinavians at BAnQ

Scandinavia – Nordic Regions

What is the difference between Scandinavian and Nordic countries? – Quora Check the link.

Scandinavia consists of three countries, Norway, Sweden and Denmark, where Scandinavian languages dominate.

The Nordic countries consist of Scandinavia plus Iceland (that used to be a part of first Norway then Denmark) and Finland (that used to be the eastern third of Sweden, with a strikingly similar culture, although a totally different language).

The Nordic countries includes two autonomous parts of Denmark, namely Greenland and the Faroe Islands, plus one similarly autonomous archipelago of Finland, the Åland Islands, where the language is Swedish and almost no Finnish speakers live.

The Scandinavian languages are, unsurprisingly, Danish, Swedish and Norwegian.

The most used term is the Nordic countries, which is:

  • Sweden
  • Denmark
  • Norway
  • Finland
  • Iceland
  • Åland (?)

The term the Scandinavian countries is only a physical regional designation:

  • Sweden
  • Denmark
  • Norway

The database below consists of documents, books, articles and theses written by authors from Scandiavian countries, Canada, the U.S.A. and Nordic countries.

Several complete books, documents and articles may be downloaded and they are noted in several different colors.

Click the link bewlow to access the database and open in a new window.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.